Catalog Only & Skins

Jun 4, 2009 at 5:12 AM

Hi there

Im very excited to use your free ecommerce now.

Most commercial ecommerce is very expensive to me.

Now, I got a project not to sell their product online but just a list of products for display purpose.

Is that possible for me to use your module as a Catalog Only?

No buy now oe even checkout. Just product list, picture, description (maybe price also) only.

User can't buy online.

I don't want to design custom page for list of products statically because I want to let my admin can add, edit a product by themself just like ecommerce module but no buy online.

One more thing, since Im new to DNN, I get confused with skin and module interaction. If I buy a comercial skin, like in dotnetnukeskin.com is that possible the skin applied to this module? Is that automatically (imposible, dotnetnukeskin.com never know about NB_Store) or I need to extend the skin?

Coordinator
Jun 4, 2009 at 5:46 AM

Hi there,

Because this module offer such extensive templating, one can simply create a template that doesn't contain the add-to-cart tokens.

However, let me also state that the ease of doing this is directly related to one's knowledge of DNN and the use of tokens and templates in general. Customising DNN is easy once you know how, but can be very difficult to understand if you don't.

There are lots of modules that can be used to cataloghue data, so you should ensure that your primary needs are best met with this particular module. For example, when I build a site for someone to use and the site requires image files to be uploaded, then it is very important that the module handles all resizing of images. If this is left to the client to do then it usually becomes too difficult for them. The NB Store module does handle image resizing, so that's a plus.