Product and category updates

Aug 29, 2009 at 3:31 PM

Updating product or category you are immediately back to the previous page.
Should be fixed this so that return button only sends you back to previous page you ARE SO ABLE TO UPDATE PRODUCTS concerning OTHER LANGUAGES WHEN NEEDED.
otherwise It disturbes product updating seesion. Maybe you have already fixed this.

Regards,

Markku

 

Coordinator
Aug 29, 2009 at 4:16 PM

Hi Marku,

In v1.1.7 when you switch langauge when editing a product or category, it automatically updates the language you where editing, therefore you don't need to click the update button until your complete language editing has been completed.

Hope this makes sense?

Regards,

Dave.

Aug 31, 2009 at 8:25 AM

logically sense is lost when working with category has those three buttons. (there are three now, but products have only two.
it is hazardous when you have used to work with three buttons or to use update button that doesn't throw you back immediately to previous step.
this makes sense concerning standardizing  software to global use. you must always tell customers that this two-button-sampling
saving categories and products. when do so there should be info to save previous data or use auto-save option flag (templated).
then there are  two buttons (simplified) which do not throw you back (asking you to save changes) available and this auto-save option to use,
So consistency of logic remains solid.
Note: this is only to propose changing logic for global use.

Regards,

Markku

Coordinator
Aug 31, 2009 at 11:43 AM

Hi Markku,

The three buttons on categories are because categories can be deleted and don't effect orders that have been made, the products have 2 buttons because you can't delete products that are linked to an order, until that order has been purged (archived) from the system.

The auto update is done because I found this the easiest way to work with multiple langauges. An auto-save option would be nice, but involves a lot more work storing the changes and only commiting when update is used.

Maybe a better way could be found in future releases, but for the moment all my devlopement time is taken adding the functionality needed.

Regards,

Dave.