Creating horizontal scroller for list and detail

Jan 17, 2010 at 9:43 PM

In the docs I read about setting up Custom Javascript but....

I have a product catalog project where we're trying to do the following:
1 - Clicing on a category take you to that categorys list template, but where the list template is a horizontal scroller showing just a few products (large images and so on)
2 - Clicking on a given product, takes you to that products detail template, also here with a horizontal scroller, now with added text and gallery images etc...

Questions:
1) Is it possible on the detail page to scroll between products in the same category?

2) If yes, how do I proceed, are there any examples, similar implementations or other pages to take a look at?

Appreciating any input, as beeing a complete newbie on NB Store I certainly has a lot to learn
IMHO this is one sweet module and will have my attention for years to come.

Sincerely, Ron

Coordinator
Jan 17, 2010 at 11:05 PM

Hi Ron,

Because you can create and apply different templates per product list module, you can generally add any suitable script from places like Dynamic Drive, and using the store tokens, make a special productlist template to suit.

One item on our list to discuss for a future release is to generate RSS feeds of products - by category, newest, specials, featured etc. This would then make it dead simple to add animated product displays to other pages (and other sites) by way of the various modules available on Snowcovered that accept RSS feeds for display. This is just up for discussion at this point however.