Do not attempt to reset and upgrade your store templates unless you are confident that you know any and all settings required. You must back up and be able to restore your system, because we take no responsiblity for your actions, even if the information presented here contains an error.

  • Terminology - "Configuration" refers to any or all of the entries you can find in Back Office > Utilities > Settings/Templates.
  • This configuration does not include products, categories, shipping, tax, orders, or module settings.
  • The task of updating the module to the latest version first is done in the normal manner - DO NOT uninstall the old module. Just upload the new module via Host > Extensions.

About the store configuration

  • Each release of the module contains a default configuration held in a file called managermenudefault.xml
  • This file can be found inside the module zip file, in the templates folder.
  • Upon upgrading the module, any brand new stores you create will get the latest configuration.
  • Existing stores will only get configuration items that did not exist previously.
  • The good result is that your existing store always retains its existing configuration
  • The not so great result is that it will not gain any new features or fixes that are based in the configuration.
  • Therefore a mehtod for resetting and upgrading to new configuration items is required - Hence this page!

Three procedures are described on this page - Use what you need

  1. Backing up your store's configuration
  2. Resetting or upgrading all settings and templates
  3. Restoring or upgrading individual settings or templates

Backing up your store's configuration

This backs up all items on the Settings and Templates tabs in the Back Office.

  1. Go to Back Office > Admin > Settings
  2. Click the "Export Settings" button
  3. Save the file somewhere safe

Resetting or upgrading all settings and templates

Here's the short version:

  1. Click the "Reset Store Settings" button in the Back Office, Admin, Settings tab
  2. Click the "Restart DNN Application" button
  3. Click the "Reset" button at the bottom of each module's settings page
  4. Re-apply your custom settings to all components

And here's the long version - This is a full reset!

First, reset the configuration

  1. Go to Back Office > Admin > Settings
  2. Click the "Reset Store Settings" button.
  3. This instantly resets the settings and templates to the defaults, using the managermenu.xml that exists in the module folder on your server.
  4. Click the General tab in the same section and then click the "Restart DNN Application" button. This will dump you back to your store page.

Optionally reset the modules

  1. Click the "Reset" button at the bottom of each module's settings page and clicking update when it has finished.

Then restore any required Back Office settings

  1. Either import selected settings or templates from your backup file (procedure is detailed in the next section on this page)
  2. Or re-apply individual settings by hand - it all depends on how many changes you had made.
  3. At a minimum this will be:
    1. The three tabs under Settings, System, Tabs. Select your Store, checkout and Wishlist page - The wishlist page should be the store page unless you've created a custom wishlist page.
    2. The merchant name, address, bank and logo templates
    3. The payment gateway - PayPal, PxPay or whatever. The PayPal gateway has been improved in the 2.2.0 release. I recommend applying your PayPal details to it by hand.
    4. Any other settings you had specifically applied - Tabbed content, country list, email addresses, custom fields, and the rest.
    5. Check that the currency.culture setting matches your country - This was previously empty and defaulted to the merchant.culture. Now it also powers the currency convertor.
  4. Also re-apply module settings, if you had reset those as well.
    1. At a minimum this will be the store and checkout tabs in the product list and checkout modules, but may also extend to other options.
    2. If you are using the rows layout then also set the columns to "1" in the product list module.

You must browse and test your store thoroughly, all the way through to making a test purchase to ensure everything works and the notification emails are correct.


Restoring or upgrading individual settings or templates

In this procedure we select specific settings and/or templates from either the latest module release, or your backed up configuration. Once you have understood this procedure, it becomes a relatively easy way to manage store configurations and carry out upgrades.

  1. You are expected to have backed up your configuration first!
  2. Extract the managermenudefault.xml file from the latest store release, or have your backed up configuraton file handy.
  3. Go to Back Office > Admin > Settings
  4. Put a tick in the "Overwrite" box
  5. Browse to the managermenudefault file, or to your backed up configuration file, and click "Import Settings"
  6. Click "Yes" to the warnings
  7. You will be presented with a page of check boxes; one for every setting and template in the file.
  8. Choose the items you want to import and click "Import Settings" again
  9. For good measure you might also like to click the "Restart DNN Application" button on the General tab when it is finished.

Now you can go to the settings and templates tabs and your replacement items will be there.

Tip: Avoid modifying the major default settings and templates (productlist and productdetails) - Instead, just create copies of them and then change the template option in the productlist module settings to point to your custom templates.

 

Last edited Jun 22, 2011 at 1:12 AM by robax, version 7

Comments

robax Jun 22, 2011 at 1:10 AM 
Hi Ben, best place to ask is in the forums.. I wish we could turn off these comments here because we don't get notified when one is submitted. It's only by chance that we see them.
To answer your question, upload the new module zip in the same way that you first installed it, through the Host, Module Definitions, or Host Extensions page. Don't uninstall the old version - just install the new one over it.

paps May 15, 2011 at 8:16 AM 
Hi...probably a dumb question, but do you download the new version and extract the files and FTP them to the server before running the above tasks? I am assuming you have to install the new version first somehow.
Thanks
Ben