source code how to

Mar 13, 2009 at 9:56 PM
Hello! Please could you help me - i'm new to dotnetnuke (but not to .net) and i can not find out how to work with the source code in visual studio.

I tried this :
1. created a new website from the dnn starter kit and installed portal  using wizzard
2. installed nb_store module from the source code zip
3. extracted the sources to the directory

this approach is not working. But if i find out how to get it work, how to buid an install package after i make some minor change to fit my scenario?
Coordinator
Mar 14, 2009 at 2:56 PM
Hi,

You seem to almost there!... I'm aware that getting the source to work straight out of the zip is a bit difficult for people not use to DNN, but time only allows so much!!...

I'll try and explain what you need to do, but it's a bit difficult without knowing you exact circumstances, so don't be too critical if you have to make changes to get it to work..

1. Open up the .sln.
2. remove the SIP provided. (This is the French back link and you shouldn;t need it and it does require a API to run and may or may not give you some problems!!)
3. Remove the link to the DotNetNuke libary, now this will leave you with no DNN reference. (Obviously you need this!!)
4. Change all the DNN refs to look at the DotNetNUke.dll in your <websiteroot>/bin folder.

After this you should be able to get it to compile..

Let me know if I've missed anything..

Regards,
Dave.

Mar 24, 2009 at 10:27 AM
Hi have installed a new Dotnetnuke Project:

1) Download the source file launched the.sln file
2) remove the SIP provided.
3) Remove the link to the DotNetNuke libary
4) Add the reference to my DotNetNUke.dll (<websiteroot>/bin )

How I can to insert the module in my DotnetNuke web site? I need befor to install the module?
How can I see the module in my top control panel?

Thanks
rmartin
Coordinator
Mar 24, 2009 at 2:35 PM