How to set a sale price on one specific product

Feb 18, 2010 at 5:20 PM

Hi ... I'm new to NB Store.  Just installed it on our test site yesterday.  We are a part of the family of abandoned children left behind by aspdotnetstorefront and we're looking for a viable solution.  I know this product won't offer all that, that one did but if we can get the basics up and going I think we'll be good. 

So I'm trying to figure out how to put just one specific product on sale ... or basically set a sale price per product.  Is this possible?  If so how would we go about this?  All I'm seeing presently is the ability to add a discount per category or per cart ...

Also is there any functionality available in this package for setting up product cross-sells?

- webgirl

www.amazingfacts.org

Coordinator
Feb 18, 2010 at 8:32 PM

Hi webgirl,

Specials work on a specific percentage or Dollar discount of the price. The discount amount is created as an item in the back office, and you can create any number of them. So you might create one that is $10 off and one that is 10% off and one that is 20% off etc. Each discount has a category associated with it and everything in the category gets the discount.

When you create a category, there is a check box for making it a special hidden category. The idea is you would create a category for something like 10% Discount, set it as a special hidden one and associate it with the 10% discount option. Then it's a simple matter to assign that category to any product that is to have 10% off... even just a single product.

What the store does not do is create a temporary second price for use as a discount for a single product. If there are no patterns to your discounts and you want specific discount prices, then you must simply change the product prices. If this is what you required, then you could perhaps create a custom/bespoke field to hold and display the original retail price whilst an item is being sold for a lower price.